Visit The Episcopal Diocese of Washington website

About the Episcopal Diocese of Washington

The Diocese of Washington comprises 38,000 people in 88 congregations, and the heart of our life and ministry is found in those congregations, as well as in our Episcopal schools, service ministries, and most importantly, in the lives of our members. We’re learning together what it means to follow Jesus and to be God’s church.

While our name is the Episcopal Diocese of Washington,  our congregations, schools and other ministries are located in four Maryland counties–Montgomery, Prince George’s, Charles and St. Mary’s–as  well as the District of Columbia.

Our mission, as a diocese, is to engage a changing world with an enduring faith in Jesus Christ so that more people may know God’s love.

Our priorities are growing Christian community, connecting spirituality to everyday life and striving for justice.

Our Bishop

We are led by Bishop Mariann Edgar Budde, the first woman to hold her position. She is devoted to promoting vital congregations and speaking for justice in her sermons, public appearances and writings.


The diocesan staff assist the bishop in her ministry with a particular focus on congregational vitality and ministry with youth and families, young adults, college students and Latino congregations. Staff Directory.


Lay people and clergy participate fully in diocesan governance through diocesan conventiondiocesan council and numerous committees that carry out the ministry of the diocese.


The Bishop John T. Walker School for Boys, a tuition-free Episcopal school for boys from underserved communities, is a ministry of the diocese. Numerous other schools are affiliated with the diocese or its congregations.


Although the diocese was not officially created until 1895, many of its churches date to the 1700s, and struggled to survive the American Revolution. Find out more.